Board of Directors

Mr Natarajan Chandrasekaran

Non-Executive Director and Chairman

Mr Natarajan Chandrasekaran, is the Chairman of the Board of Tata Sons, the holding company and/or promoter of more than 100 Tata operating companies with aggregate annual revenues of more than US $100 billion.

Mr Chandrasekaran also chairs the Boards of several group operating companies, including Tata Steel, Tata Power, Indian Hotels, and Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) – of which he was Chief Executive from 2009-17. His appointment as Chairman followed a 30-year stint at TCS, where he was responsible for consolidating TCS as the largest private sector employer in India and the country's most valuable company.

He was awarded several honorary doctorates by leading universities in India and internationally. Mr Chandrasekaran attended the Regional Engineering College, Trichy, Tamil Nadu, where he completed a Master's degree in Computer Applications.

Mr Chandrasekaran was appointed as an Additional Director and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Company w.e.f. January 17, 2017.

Dr Raghunath Mashelkar

Non-Executive, Independent Director

Dr Raghunath Mashelkar is an eminent chemical engineering scientist, and an ex-Director General of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research. He is the President of Indian National Science Academy (INSA), National Innovation Foundation, Institution of Chemical Engineers, UK and Global Research Alliance. Honoured by the President of India with the Padma Shri (1991), the Padma Bhushan (2000) and the Padma Vibhushan (2014), Dr Mashelkar holds a Ph.D in Chemical Engineering from the Bombay University.

He was appointed as an Independent Director of the Company w.e.f. August 28, 2007.

Mr Nasser Munjee

Non-Executive, Independent Director

Mr Nasser Munjee served with HDFC for over 20 years at various positions including as its Executive Director. He was the Managing Director of Infrastructure Development Finance Co. Ltd. (IDFC) up to March 2004. Presently he is the Chairman of Development Credit Bank (DCB) since June 2005 and is also on the Board of various Multinational Companies and Trusts.

Mr Munjee is a Technical Advisor on the World Bank-Public Private Partnership Infrastructure and Advisory Fund. Mr Munjee holds a Bachelor's degree and a Master's degree from the London School of Economics, UK.

He was appointed as an Independent Director of the Company w.e.f. June 27, 2008.

Mr Vinesh Jairath

Non-Executive, Independent Director

Mr Vinesh Jairath served as the Principal Secretary (Industries), Government of Maharashtra and has over 25 years of experience in public administration, rural development, poverty alleviation, infrastructure, finance, industry, urban development, environmental management and a touch of the private sector occupying various important positions in the Government of India and the State Government of Maharashtra.

Mr Jairath holds a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Public Administration and a Bachelor of Law Degree, both from the Punjab University . A Masters in Economics from the University of Manchester, UK, he joined the Indian Administrative Service in 1982.

He was appointed as an Independent Director of the Company w.e.f. March 31, 2009.

Ms Falguni Nayar

Non-Executive, Independent Director

Ms Falguni Nayar has spent over 19 years with the Kotak Mahindra Bank of which she spent the last 6 years as Managing Director and CEO of Kotak Investment Bank. She is currently the founder and CEO of, an online shopping website for beauty and wellness products and also offers an online magazine, expert advice and virtual makeover tools.

She was recognised as the 'Top Business Woman' by Business Today in 2009 and 2011 and has received the FICCI Ladies Organisation award for 'Top Woman Achiever' in the field of banking in 2008. She holds a B.Com degree from the Mumbai University and a PGDM from IIM, Ahmedabad.

She was appointed as an Independent Director of the Company w.e.f. May 29, 2013.

Mr Om Prakash Bhatt

Non-Executive, Independent Director

Mr Om Prakash Bhatt is a banker, having served as Chairman, State Bank Group in his last assignment till 2011, which includes State Bank of India (SBI), India's largest commercial bank, among other Indian and overseas banks and subsidiaries. Under his leadership, SBI rose on the global list of Fortune 500.

Among other business forums, Mr Bhatt has served as the Chairman of Indian Banks' Association, the apex body of Indian. He serves as an Independent Director on several Boards including Standard Chartered Bank plc, Tata Consultancy Services, Tata Steel and Hindustan Unilever. Mr Bhatt is a graduate in Science and a post graduate in English Literature (Gold Medallist).

He was appointed as Additional and Independent Director of the Company w.e.f. May 9, 2017.

Dr Ralf Speth

Non-Executive Director

Dr Ralf Speth has been serving as the Chief Executive Officer at Jaguar Land Rover since February 18, 2010 and is on the Board of Jaguar Land Rover Automobile PLC, UK. Having served BMW for 20 years, Dr Speth joined Ford Motor Company's Premier Automotive Group as Director of Production, Quality and Product Planning. Dr Speth earned a degree in Engineering from Rosenheim University, Germany and is a Doctorate of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering and Business Administration from Warwick University.

He was appointed as a Director of the Company w.e.f. November 10, 2010.

Mr Guenter Butschek

CEO and Managing Director

Mr Guenter Butschek is the Chief Executive Officer & Managing Director of the Company.

Mr Butschek's last assignment was with Airbus Group where he served as Chief Operating Officer and Member of the Group Executive Committee. Prior to Airbus, Mr Butschek worked at Daimler AG, where he gained more than 25 years of experience in international automotive management, holding functions like production, industrialisation and procurement. He has a rich global experience of growing organisations and developing new markets. Mr Butschek is a graduate in Business Administration and Economics with a diploma from the University of Cooperative Education Stuttgart, Germany.

He was appointed as Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of the Company w.e.f. February 15, 2016.

Mr Satish Borwankar

Executive Director and Chief Operating Officer

Mr Satish Borwankar started his career with Tata Motors in 1974, as a Graduate Engineer Trainee and is the Executive Director since, 2012. On May 31, 2017, he was re-appointed as Executive Director and designated as Chief Operating Officer. He has worked in various executive positions, for overseeing and implementing product development, manufacturing operations and quality control initiatives of the Commercial Vehicles Business Unit. He has played a significant role in setting up Greenfield projects of the Company. Mr Borwankar is a Mechanical Engineer from IIT, Kanpur.

Mr Ravindra Pisharody

Executive Director (Commercial Vehicles)

Mr Ravindra Pisharody is the Executive Director (Commercial Vehicles) since 2012 having joined Tata Motors as Vice President Commercial Vehicles (Sales & Marketing), in 2007. He is also on the board of various Tata Motors Group Companies. Before joining Tata Motors, he worked with Castrol Ltd., a subsidiary of BP, and with Philips India, a subsidiary of the Dutch company in various roles. Mr Pisharody is an alumnus of IIT, Kharagpur and IIM, Kolkata.

Mr Pisharody has submitted his resignation to the Board of Directors of the Company on June 5, 2017.