## **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**



Mr Cyrus P Mistry
Non-Executive Director and Chairman

Mr Mistry was appointed as a Director of Tata Motors with effect from May 29, 2012, and as deputy chairman of the Company with effect from November 7, 2012. Mr Mistry took over as Chairman from Mr Ratan N Tata on his retirement with effect from December 28, 2012.

Mr Mistry was earlier managing director of the Shapoorji Pallonji group. He was also responsible for building the infrastructure development vertical in the Shapoorji Pallonji group.

Mr Mistry is a Graduate of Civil Engineering from the Imperial College London (1990) and has an MSc in Management from the London Business School (1997). He was recently bestowed with the Alumni Achievement Award by the London Business School.

**Mr Nusli N Wadia** *Non-Executive, Independent Director* 

Educated in the UK, Mr Wadia is the Chairman of the Bombay Dyeing & Manufacturing Company Limited and heads the Wadia Group. He is also the Chairman / Trustee of various charitable institutions and non-profit organisations.

Mr Wadia has been on the Company's Board since December 1998 as an Independent Director.





**Dr Raghunath A Mashelkar** *Non-Executive, Independent Director* 

Dr Mashelkar is an eminent chemical engineering scientist who retired from the post of Director General from the CSIR and is the President of Indian National Science Academy (INSA), National Innovation Foundation, Institution of Chemical Engineers, UK and Global Research Alliance.

The President of India honoured Dr Mashelkar with the Padma Shri (1991), the Padma Bhushan (2000) and the Padma Vibhushan (2014). Dr Mashelkar holds a Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from the Bombay University.

He was appointed as an Independent Director of the Company w.e.f. August 28, 2007.



**Mr Nasser Munjee** Non-Executive, Independent Director

Mr Nasser Munjee served with HDFC for over 20 years at various positions including as its Executive Director. He was the Managing Director of Infrastructure Development Finance Co. Ltd. (IDFC) up to March 2004. He has been the Chairman of Development Credit Bank (DCB) since June 2005 and is also on the Board of various multinational companies and Trusts.

Mr Munjee is a Technical Advisor on the World Bank Public-Private Partnership Infrastructure and Advisory Fund. Mr Munjee holds a Bachelor's degree and a Master's degree from the London School of Economics, UK.

He was appointed as an Independent Director w.e.f. June 27, 2008.

Mr Subodh Bhargava Non-Executive, Independent Director

Mr Bhargava retired from Eicher Group of Companies as Group Chairman and Chief Executive in March 2000. He was the past President of the Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) and the Association of Indian Automobile Manufacturers, and the Vice President of the Tractor Manufacturers Association.

Chairman's Message

He is currently associated as a Director of several Indian corporates, including Tata Communications Limited and Tata Steel Limited. Mr Bhargava holds a degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Roorkee.

He was appointed as an Independent Director of the Company w.e.f. June 27, 2008.





Mr Vinesh K Jairath Non-Executive, Independent Director

Mr Jairath served as the Principal Secretary (Industries), Government of Maharashtra, and has over 25 years of experience in public administration, rural development, poverty alleviation, infrastructure, finance, industry, urban development, environmental management and a touch of the private sector occupying various important positions in the Government of India and the State Government of Maharashtra.

Mr Jairath holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Public Administration and Bachelor of Laws degree, both from the Punjab University; Masters in Economics from the University of Manchester, UK; and joined the Indian Administrative Service in 1982.

He was appointed as an Independent Director of the Company w.e.f. March 31, 2009.

## **Dr Ralf Speth** Non-Executive Director

Dr Ralf Speth was appointed to the post of Chief Executive Officer at Jaguar Land Rover on February 18, 2010. He is on the Board of Jaguar Land Rover Automotive PLC, UK. Dr Speth earned a degree in Engineering from Rosenheim University of Applied Sciences, Germany and is a Doctorate of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering and Business Administration from Warwick University.

**Corporate Overview** 

Having served BMW for 20 years, Dr Speth joined Ford Motor Company's Premier Automotive Group as Director of Production, Quality and Product Planning.

He was appointed as a Director of the Company w.e.f. November 9, 2010.





**Ms Falguni S Nayar** Non-Executive, Independent Director

Ms Falguni Nayar has spent over 19 years with Kotak Mahindra Bank with the last 6 years as Managing Director and CEO of Kotak Investment Bank. She is currently the founder and CEO of Nykaa.com, an online shopping website for beauty and wellness products, which also offers an online magazine, expert advice and virtual makeover tools.

She was recognised as the 'Top Business Woman' by Business Today in 2009 and 2011 and has received the FICCI Ladies Organisation award for 'Top Woman Achiever' in the field of banking in 2008. She holds a B.Com degree from the Mumbai University and a PGDM from IIM, Ahmedabad.

She was appointed as an Independent Director of the Company w.e.f. May 29, 2013.

**Mr Guenter Butschek CEO** and Managing Director

Mr Guenter Butschek is the Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of the Company. Mr Butschek's last assignment was with Airbus group where he served as Chief Operating Officer and Member of the Group Executive Committee. Prior to Airbus, Mr Butschek worked at Daimler AG, where he gained more than 25 years of experience in international automotive management, holding functions like production, industrialisation and procurement. He has rich global experience of growing organisations and in developing new markets.

Mr Butschek graduated in Business Administration and Economics with a diploma from the University of Cooperative Education Stuttgart, Germany. Mr Butschek was appointed as an Additional Director of Tata Motors with effect from February 15, 2016.







Chairman's Message

## **Mr Ravindra Pisharody** *Executive Director (Commercial Vehicles)*

Mr Ravindra Pisharody is the Executive Director (Commercial Vehicles) since June 21, 2012, having joined Tata Motors as Vice President Commercial Vehicles (Sales & Marketing) in 2007. He is also on the board of various Tata Motors Group Companies. Before joining Tata Motors, he worked with Castrol Ltd., a subsidiary of BP, and with Philips India, a subsidiary of the Dutch company, in various roles. Mr Pisharody is an alumnus of IIT-Kharagpur, and IIM Kolkata.





Mr Satish B Borwankar Executive Director (Quality)

Mr Satish Borwankar started his career with Tata Motors in 1974 as a Graduate Engineer Trainee and is currently the Executive Director (Quality) w.e.f. June 21, 2012. He has worked in various executive positions for overseeing and implementing product development, manufacturing operations and quality control initiatives of the Commercial Vehicles Business Unit. He has played a significant role in setting up Greenfield projects of the Company. Mr Borwankar is a Mechanical Engineer from IIT, Kanpur.